Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As we age our struggle with self-image and weight loss escalate and most times can send us into a power struggle with our self, or worse into a state where we are unhappy with who we have become. I find myself on a daily basis using the statements “I’m fat,” “I need to lose weight,” “I wish this part of my body were different,” and a multitude of other sayings that are always negative. While I may believe that I am JUST affecting myself, I have quickly learned that there is one little person I am affecting as well. My daughter is my biggest fan and despite my unhappiness with myself she see’s the beauty deep within. When I look into her face I am reminded of the innocence that she provides this world and I know then that I don’t want to teach her that beauty is defined by clothes, makeup, hairstyles, the media or any measure of outward appearance. The next time you feel as if you are unhappy with your self for any reason, remember the innocence that a child has and how truly beautiful you are based on your soul and heart.

